Two Taoseños appointed to Department of Energy advisory board


Lawrence Medina and Stanley Riveles, both from Taos, have been appointed to the Northern New Mexico Citizens' Advisory Board.

The advisory board is one of eight such organizations, with the other seven located at major DOE facilities in places such as Hanford, Washington; Oak Ridge, Tennessee; and Paducah, Kentucky. The board was organized in 1998 and has 21 members and four student representatives. The DOE advisory board is entirely focused on environmental management issues, such as legacy waste, the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (a facility in Carlsbad that experienced a radioactive leak in 2014) and the budget for environmental management.

Both Medina and Riveles were appointed by James Owendoff, assistant secretary for environment management, according to a press release from the board.

Medina is the career development facilitator for the University of New Mexico-Taos branch campus. He is a resident of Ranchos de Taos.

Riveles is a retired U.S. Department of State employee who worked as a director of the Nuclear Risk Reduction Center. He is the current chair of Taos United and is a resident of Arroyo Hondo.

Cherylin Atcitty, environmental manager for Taos Pueblo, was appointed to serve as a member of the board last December.

The next meeting of the board will take place Nov. 15 from 1 to 5:15 p.m. at El Monte Sagrado in Taos. The meeting is open to the public. For more information, please visit the NNMCAB's website at: energy.gov/em/nnmcab.