Regional transit board elects new board members


At its monthly board meeting today, the board of directors of the North Central Regional Transit District elected three members to serve as officers for the district and welcomed two new board members.

Daniel Barrone, town of Taos mayor, was re-elected NCRTD Chair; Dennis Tim Salazar, City of Española Councilor and former NCRTD Treasurer and Secretary, was elected to serve as vice-chair; and Santa Fe County Commissioner Ed Moreno is the newly elected treasurer-secretary. NCRTD officers are elected to serve a two-year term.

The Board also welcomed new member, Councilor Carol Romero-Wirth, representing the city of Santa Fe, and alternate board member Española Councilor Justin Salazar-Torres.

The North Central Regional Transit District provides fare-free and premium fare bus service Monday through Friday to a service area that encompasses more than 10,000 square miles of north central New Mexico, including the counties of Taos, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba and Santa Fe; the cities of Santa Fe and Española; the towns of Taos and Edgewood; and the village of Chama, as well as the Pueblos of Pojoaque, Ohkay Owingeh, Nambé, San Ildefonso, Santa Clara and Tesuque. The agency's signature "RTD Blue Buses" provide additional transit connections to the New Mexico Rail Runner, Santa Fe Trails, New Mexico Park and Ride, Los Alamos Atomic City Transit, Taos RTD Chile Line and Red River Miner's Transit.