Taos artists expose 'Self Portraits' at TCA

The opening reception is Friday (Nov. 22), 5-7 p.m., in the Taos Center for the Arts' Encore Gallery


Some speak with humor, while others with a more serious bent. “They make us smile; they make us ponder, they make us imagine, they make us feel a wide range of emotion.”

Such is the sentiment painting the background for the fifth annual “Self Portait Exhibition” set to open with a reception Friday (Nov. 22) from 5-7 p.m. in the Encore Gallery at the Taos Community Auditorium, 145 Paseo del Pueblo Norte. Admission is free to this juried show.

The exhibition illustrates the many faces of Taos artists through various media including photography, drawing, painting, sculpture, and mixed media. Their portraits are said to reflect personality, life stories, and feelings.

“Each artist has chosen to depict himself or herself in an objective or subjective manner within a chosen style,” a statement reads. “A few of the styles to be seen in the show will include abstract, expressionism and representational. It is an exhibition that speaks personally to each artist, but also elicits the ‘who am I’ in all of us.

This year’s “Self Portrait Exhibition” was juried by Margery Reading, Petro Hul and Jane M. Farmer.

Reading is a local artist and a former member of the Taos Portrait Society. Hul is a local sculptor who also teaches stone carving at Southwest Stoneworks in Rinconada as well as the “Marble/marble Symposium” in Colorado. Farmer is a retired curator formerly at the Smithsonian Institute and a freelance curator-producer of international exhibitions and artist exchanges.

“This year, the jury was looking for interesting and well-executed interpretations of the self-portrait both within a traditional and non-traditional format,” the statement continues. “The jury reviewed over 55 well-qualified submissions and 26 artists were selected.”

These include Nora Anthony, Hank Brusselback, Andeana Carlyle, Catherine Carter, Dan Cassidy, Peter Chinni, Carol De Marinis, Donna Dufresene, Isaiah Giron, Alex Giron, Sara Jean Gray, Ron Hagg, Kim Henkel, H.W. Kelly, Nancy Lay, Jennifer Lindsley, David Mapes, Carol Mel, Jonell Mills, Carol Morgan-Eagle, Susan Pasquarelli, Scott Randolf, Jean Stevens, Lina Thewlis, Patti Traynor, and David Vedoe.

During the opening reception, those in attendance will have the opportunity to vote for “People’s Choice” and winners will receive dining certificates from local restaurants Mosaic, Doc Martin’s, and Caffe Renato.

The exhibition continues through Jan. 12. For more call (575) 758-2052 or visit tcataos.org.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment