Pecos League figures out 2015 alignment, for now

The league has dropped two of its 10 clubs from last year and then brought back the Las Cruces Vaqueros.


The Pecos League recently announced new divisions for the 2015 season, and then it changed them.

The league dropped two of its 10 clubs from last year — the Ratón Osos and the Douglas (Ariz.) Diablos. It then brought back one of the original members of the league, the Las Cruces Vaqueros.

With nine teams playing next year, the league first decided to split the league into three three-team divisions. The Taos Blizzard would have been in the Northern Division with the Santa Fe Fuego and the Trinidad (Colo.) Triggers while Roswell, Alpine (Texas) and White Sands would have been in the Western Division and Las Vegas, Las Cruces and Bisbee (Ariz.) would have competed in the Southern Division.

After further thought, however, the league decided to keep its existing format of two divisions — a North and a South division.

Taos will now remain in the Northern Division with Santa Fe, Trinidad and Las Vegas while the other five teams will compete in the Southern Division.

The teams are currently scheduled to play the bulk of their games within their division. Taos is scheduled to play each of division foes 18 times and then play Bisbee twice, White Sands four times, Roswell four times, Las Cruces twice and Alpine four times.

Follow Taos Sports on Twitter


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment